What is NAATI and why do I need translations by a NAATI Accredited Translator?

How Can We Help?
< Back
You are here:

NAATI stands for National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters in Australia.

You should have your documents translated by a NAATI accredited or certified translator if you require personal documents which have been issued in a foreign country to be translated into English for submission to an Australian Government department, such as the Department of Immigration and Border Protection, the Department of Foreign Affairs, Universities, etc…

Such translations must be performed by a NAATI accredited or recognised translator in order to be accepted.

  • Typical foreign-issued personal documents that require NAATI accredited translations into English are:
    Birth certificates, Marriage certificates, Divorce certificates, Death certificates, Police clearances, Certificates of good conduct, Identity and Citizenship documents, University degrees, School diplomas, Medical reports, Custody agreements, Wills, Evidence of de-facto relationship, etc.

Contact Language Professionals if you are looking for a translation agency that can provide you with a NAATI certified translation, performed by a translator accredited or certified by NAATI. Read more on our certified translations page.


The National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI) is the accreditation body for translators and interpreters in Australia. NAATI is the only body authorised to issue accreditation for translators and interpreters who wish to work as professional language practitioners in Australia.

All official translation and interpreting services in Australia require translators and interpreters to be NAATI accredited whenever possible. However, NAATI is not available for all languages.

Types of Accreditation or Certification

There are various levels of accreditation or certification, depending on the experience of the translators and how much demand there is for their particular language.

  • Advanced Translator (Senior) (formerly known as NAATI Level 5)
  • Advanced Translator (formerly known as NAATI Level 4)
  • Professional Translator (formerly known as NAATI Level 3)
  • Paraprofessional Translator (formerly known as NAATI Level 2)
  • Recognition (credential awarded where accreditation is not available in that language)
Table of Contents